Fish Out of Water

Fish Out of Water by Joe Reid Kirby III

The fish are around,

In this sea they surround,

Me, you see, how I try not to be found,

I don’t make a sound,

They’re curious to see why I’m not bound,

Single me, in this sea, hunting me like a hound,

I see the sharks come to you, looking to eat,

Don’t be fooled my darling by their cunning deceit,

You are the most beautiful fish in the sea,

And all of those want what we used to be,

Come back to your school so we can swim together,

The sea is too big to swim alone forever,

Navigate with me and you’ll surely see,

That the only other fish for you is not in the sea, it’s me!

~ Joe Reid Kirby III  11/7/11

img_8412

© 2017 3CupsOfJoe. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

