Final Hour ~ Poem

Final Hour by Joe Reid Kirby III

I find comfort in my silence …

Witnessing the world all around …

Wondering if anyone can hear my whispers,

Amongst all of the earthly sounds …

Thoughts seem to sound better in my head,

Than when I say them aloud …

But no one can touch the words I write,

Although I’m much more appreciative than proud …

Grateful for my gifts …

And thankful for my talents …

Where though is the open door,

Leading to my balance?

My legs shake with each step I take forward …

And the heart aches with every move I make back …

My dad taught me that I’d never catch anything,

If I gave my line too much slack …

But with the size of the dreams that I have to hold,

It’ll take a special kind of pole not to crack …

My mom wrote the codes of value on my mind,

Which only an artist could hack …

My wife and two kids fill-in where I lack,

And give me the strength to dig deep while I pack …

These heavy ideas …

Up to the highest clouds …

So that they may rain down on the dying blades of grass which need them …

Though mowers,

Cursed with the hate of growth,

May still work tirelessly to impede them …

If a man is still starving,

After he eats the peas on his plate,

No doubt he’ll bite the hand that feeds him …

The best players are the ones that understand the game,

But what about the many unaware that they’re playing?

Laws are the rules …

Money is the score …

Monopoly isn’t just a name anymore …

Beyond a saying:

The entire world is being bought up,

By the companies which we’re paying …

What will be left for our kids to have,

When everything is already owned?

Mentalities are being manufactured …

Most character is cloned …

Love is no longer given,

It’s condition is being loaned …

And interest is expected in full,

Though they show little to none in your authentic way of life …

Your most crucial findings considered absurdities,

As those of Royal Rife …

It is then that you understand the hymns of hope,

And comprehend our collective power …

This is why I put my heart into every minute,

As if this were our final hour.

~ Joe Reid Kirby III 6/21/17

2017 3CupsOfJoe. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

