Soon Successful ~ Poem

Soon Successful by Joe Reid Kirby III

Breathing the sweet air …

Knowing you’re moments from getting there …

Whether those moments last a day,

A week,

Or a year …

It’s almost here …

I can feel it …

Destined for greatness …

Disciplined to keep my hand steady …

Even if it may cramp …

Even if it may never work properly again once I’ve finished this …

But I must finish …

Bring reverence upon my family’s name,

But do not forget that I am the same …

Human …

With a balance of being & doing

I ran swiftly through my valley of sobbing & chewing …

Fell off of the gaps,

And played in-between the many mountains,

More times than I’ve ever intentionally attempted to climb …

But I’m ready to climb this one …

Kicked the laziness from my bones,

And created the time …

To train myself up to a value much greater than any dollar,

From a dime …

To conquer this challenge much bigger than I,

And catch the perspectives from higher cliffs,

Looking up to the sky …

Carrying only the water swishing around in my head …

In hopes of watering the dryness of the mountain,

And making something grow,

Or winding up dead …

But I’m willing to die for it …

Many may deny my technique,

But I’m still willing to try for it …

Because none of them have ever attempted this climb …

Many long ago willingly threw away their prime …

While I’ve made the conscious decision to marry mine …

You become a part of anywhere you take a seat,

So remain on your feet …

Otherwise you’re sure to lose the ability of your legs …

There may only be rocks from here,

So gain a great natural grip,

And elevate beyond the practice pegs …

Your passion will never ask,

And purpose never begs,

What makes no sense to the mind,

Listen to the heart instead.

~ Joe Reid Kirby III 7/14/17

2017 3CupsOfJoe. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

